SUNY ESF Sweeps Year-End Awards as All-HVIAC Men's Cross Country Team Revealed

SUNY ESF Sweeps Year-End Awards as All-HVIAC Men's Cross Country Team Revealed

NEW YORK – SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry freshman Matthew Tripp (Fayetteville, N.Y.) was named the 2019 Hudson Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Runner of the Year, while 15 men were named to the 2019 All-HVIAC Men's Cross Country Team.

Tripp, a three-time Runner of the Week, was a standout for the Mighty Oaks all season, earning a second overall finish in his first collegiate race and taking home multiple first-place finishes highlighted by a program-record 25:33 8K time at the Hamilton College Invite.

Fellow SUNY ESF harrier Simon Seidl (Camden, N.Y.) took home Rookie of the Year honors as the Oaks swept the HVIAC's year-end awards. Seidl was a consistent top-20 finisher for ESF and came in seventh at their inaugural Mighty Oaks Invitational. 

Guiding SUNY ESF to their fifth straight title, Head Coach Mike Melfi and Assistant Coaches Todd Halbig and Hannah Anthes received Coaching Staff of the Year honors. 

The HVIAC Runner of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year are selected by the conference's men's cross country coaches based on performance during the regular season. 

# # #

Sam Auria SUNY ESF Fr. Lancaster, N.Y.
Tyler Bonnier Albany Pharmacy Fr.  
Zachary Fall * Vaughn So. Georgetown, Texas
Alex Henwood SUNY ESF    
Jeremy Jimenez Berkeley So. Bronx, N.Y.
Adam Kantor SUNY ESF Fr. Lafayette, N.Y.
Carlos Lopez Berkeley Fr. Passaic, N.J.
Anders Proft SUNY ESF Jr. Manchester, Vt.
Randy Ramos Vaughn Jr. Bronx, N.Y.
Louis Roche Vaughn    
Sean Ryan SUNY ESF Jr. Newburgh, N.Y.
Brett Salvaggio Albany Pharmacy Sr. Waterville, N.Y.
Julio Sanchez % Berkeley So. Woodland Park, N.J.
Jake Spence SUNY ESF    
Oliver Sugarman SUNY ESF So. Trumansburg, N.Y.

* Denotes 2018 All-Conference Team selection

% Denotes 2018 Rookie of the Year

Runner of the Year - Matthew Tripp (SUNY ESF)
Rookie of the Year - Simon Seidl (SUNY ESF)
Coaching Staff of the Year - Mike Melfi, Todd Halbig, Hannah Anthes (SUNY ESF)